File under: unexpected Saudi diversions

Jeddah is home to the world's tallest fountain
Nope, it's not oil: Jeddah is home to the world's tallest fountain

Remember when I called romance a bore? Well, a girl still needs her diversions. Preferably ones that take less than ten minutes of my time – after all, deadlines loom. Enter some perfectly brewed iced chai (here’s my recommendation) and … a rap song about Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. A friend from the city sent me the link.

More about Jeddah:

* Jeddah is the major portal to Mecca. It’s a drive of about half an hour.

* It’s home to the Jeddah Economic Forum – the “think tank of the Middle East.” This year’s major event featured speakers from Dr. Muhammad Yunus to George Soros. Several women were featured too.

* It is said that the tomb of Eve is located in Jeddah.

* As of 2005, there were 849 public and private schools for males and 1,179 schools for females.

* I hope to go there within the next 24 months – on my way to hajj inshallah! You heard it here first.

Dr. Muhammad Yunus and yours truly - we're not in Saudi Arabia
Dr. Muhammad Yunus and yours truly - we're not in Saudi Arabia (2007)

5 thoughts on “File under: unexpected Saudi diversions

  1. I’m hoping it happens. As you can see, I’ve given myself 24 months to make it possible. My bro and I will have to come up with some serious riyals to make the trip!

Leave a comment