Urgent appeal: five women buried alive in Pakistan

The Asian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) has received information from a remote area of Balochistan province, that five women were buried alive, allegedly by the younger brother of Mr. Sadiq Umrani, the provincial minister and a prominent leader of the Pakistan People’s Party, the ruling party. However, police have still not arrested the perpetrators after one month of the incident.

The Asian Human Rights Commission

In another “honor” related incident, five Pakistani women ages 16-45 have been buried alive as punishment for pursuing marriages of their choice.

Please see here to learn more. The site includes a sample action letter to the Pakistani government, and an automated way to send your letter straight from their site. Your letters may bounce back to you – please continue trying. If possible, also try calling and faxing official offices. Contact information is all listed here.

Remember to stay on top of cases like these by visiting the International Campaign Against Honour Killings  regularly.

8 thoughts on “Urgent appeal: five women buried alive in Pakistan

  1. I’ve sent the e-mails…
    I’m just sorry to keep finding out about this stuff after the fact. Isn’t there anything more Pro-Active that can be done?

  2. I MR. Mohammad Sadiq Umrani provincial minster for communication and works government of Baluchistan and founder member of Pakistan people’s party in Baluchistan do take this opportunity to offer necessary explanation about the incident where in reportedly three ladies have been murdered in the area of Baba koot thesil tambo district naseerabad.
    It is highly unfortunate and painful that an attempt has been made by some of my political and tribal rivals to involve my brother Abdul Sattar Umrani in the sad unwarranted, unethical incident to damage and disrepute myself and my family.
    I myself belong progressive political party and beaing a political and human right activist I have played an active and leading roll in the restoration of democracy and upholding human values and human rights in the peculiar tribal society of Baluchistan for which I had to suffer long rigorous imprisonment and even flogging during the martial law regime in Pakistan.
    Being an educated and enlightened political worker neither myself nor any member of my family can think even in term of involving in such a heinous, hateful and brutal inhuman acts.
    I am not connected in any way to the area of Baba Koot where this hateful incident had occurred rather it is an area of influence of certain other influential tribal sardars.
    I am sure that free and impartial investigation of the case will unearth the actual facts in due course of time and before the same any implication will be quite unjust and unfair on the part of any agency and organization.
    I may hope for any further explanation/clarification relating to myself or any of my family member I will be personally contacted and any unnecessary/unjustified implication mere on the basis of surmises and conjectures will be avoided as it entails serious tribal and political repurcations in the typical tribal society of Baluchistan.

  3. sad sad incident ! it is most heart wrenching to witness such incidents in Pakistan even now ! Where our mothers and sisters are made puppets of honor and dignity , a position where their own will and morality means nothing against the misogynist society .

  4. It is very sad to hear this news. Who ever is resposible for such cruel behavior used be punished in the same manner. The government must send police and let them take control of that area by which ever needs necessary. I want to help but don’t know where to begin.

Leave a comment