New Muslim wedding contract in Britain

New from Britain: a new Muslim wedding contract has been implemented in the UK. Because it offers certain rights for women – and demands certain things of men (women are guaranteed the right to divorce, men must vow to not be abusive), it has been called “revolutionary”. However, it’s actually based in some of Islam’s most basic guidelines about how marriage should be.

It’s definitely a step in the right direction, and I commend the members of the ulema who have advocated these changes.

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “New Muslim wedding contract in Britain

  1. What I don’t get is that women should have had these rights already, when and why did they lose their Islamic rights?

  2. I think it’s great.

    At my Nikaah Nama, the Hafiz made sure that I understood *exactly* what I was entitled to as a Muslim wife, and exactly what I was responsible for. He did the same for my husband. I wonder how many women missed out on that conversation, and were just bartered off.

    I think that a lot of what we’ve decided will make an appearance at our wedding ceremony next year, when we publicly recite our vows.

Leave a Reply

