Kuwaiti columnist Ibtihal al-Khatib: “my problem is with religious coercion”

An interesting video from Memri TV: Kuwaiti columnist Ibtihal al-Khatib – a Muslim woman – discusses religion, dissent,  and civil rights. She makes a compelling argument for the separation of religion and state – and asks a straightforward question: will people follow a religious ruling even if it goes against the best interests of the nation?

Unfortunately, this video is no longer available on YouTube. Click here to see it at MEMRI TV.

 

 “…You people! We have created you from a male and a female, and made you into nations and tribes, that you might get to know one another…”

Qur’an 49:13

4 thoughts on “Kuwaiti columnist Ibtihal al-Khatib: “my problem is with religious coercion”

  1. Hi

    I agree that religion and state should be separate; only then justice could be dispensed properly as mentioned in Quran.

    Thanks

    Kindly visit my site for charitable discusion.

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

  2. Hi paarsurrey,

    Assalamu aleikum wa ramatullahi wa barakatuh.

    Thank you for your comment. Do you think you could elaborate on how you believe the Qur’an would support this idea?

    Peace,
    Raquel Evita Saraswati

  3. Hi

    Yes, I would request you to kindly access the following link:
    http://www.alislam.org/books/shariah/
    and you will get all the needed material and reasonably explained one from Quran which supports your views I think. Religion and State should be kept separate for a true rule of justice for everybody on any religion.

    Kindly keep visiting my site for peaceful exchange of views.

    Thanks

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

  4. Hi

    Some hour ago, I posted a post here but somehow it got disappeared. I give a link which you may access and find the valid peaceful arguments from Quran and other Islamic sources:

    http://www.alislam.org/books/shariah/

    Please access my site; I have recently started and kindly comment on the topics there for peaceful discusssion. You are welcome there.

    Thanks

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

Leave a Reply

